jump to navigation

Americans don't know their religion May 27, 2007

Posted by truthspew in doctors, education, puritanical, radicalism, religion.
trackback

This article in the Washington Post isn’t much of a surprise to me. By way of background let me explain that I am the product of twelve years of education in Catholic schools first at St. Ann School then at LaSalle Academy. During at least one of those twelve years we read and studied the Bible from cover to cover. College was a secular deal at Johnson & Wales University but by then I needed no more of religion.

The issue for me was that in addition to the Catholic schools trying to push dogma on me, they also taught me how to think critically. That’s a dangerous thing for religion for once you can think, you are then able to see the inconsistencies and outright falsehoods of the Bible.

Anyhow what struck me was that those who proclaim they’re religious couldn’t tell who Noah’s wife was (It wasn’t mentioned in the Bible, but the Jews name her Naamah for Beautiful One.). Nor could they tell who gave the Sermon on the Mount (Doh!, Christ himself!), or better yet any one of the authors of the gospels (Matthew, Mark, John and Luke and the jury is still out on Mary). These are the same folks who think “In God We Trust” has always been on U.S. Currency and the Pledge of Allegiance. It hasn’t, it’s only been there since 1954 and it’s original purpose was to show the godless communists who was top dog.

It astounds me that people don’t know the basic facts about religion, let alone civic government. But then I had the benefit of what I consider a good education. Unfortunately that is falling further out of reach for everyone. A co-worker has her daughter enrolled in a Catholic school and it’s almost $4K a year. Yikes!

But if you have a child, I urge you to educate that child as best you can. And while you’re at it, educate yourself.

Comments»

1. onanite - May 28, 2007

You are so right! I find most xtians don’t have a clue about simple things like when the Bible was canonized. And most do not know that “the gospels” were written about 70 years after Christ had died.

That is the reason that I do not try to “reason” with xtians. I just let them go about in their ignorance.

Onanite


Leave a Reply

