jump to navigation

An embarrasing little episode January 16, 2008

Posted by truthspew in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Last night I was at the DC401 gathering where Mitch Altman, developer of the TV-B-Gone device was showing us how to create the Trippy RGB (Warning, high geek quotient!) light kit which is based on the MiniPOV 3 kit. I also ordered a MiniPOV 3 kit because I want to put one of those together too. I also found a cheap USB to Serial adapter from Old Fashioned Robotics so I can program these little controllers.

While I can do a bang up job with a soldering iron, I didn’t know my resistor color codes. I’d always had the resistor chart in my pictures folder and just brought it up when I needed it. And in my parts bin everything is labeled in text so I know what’s what. Speaking of which, I need to add some parts into my database. What’s more, I was in good company. Brian Jepson had to pull up a web copy on his cell phone.

So today I finally decided, I’m going to learn what those colors mean. I already know the 25 pair code (Blue, Green, Orange, Brown, Slate and then the binder are White, Red, Black, Yellow and Violet) so why not electronics codes?

So I can happily state I can now name them, ready?

Black, Brown, Red, Orange, Yellow, Green, Blue, Violet, Grey, White that correspond to 0 thru 9, then gold bands mean multiply times .1, and silver times .01.

Lets see how long I remember them but I think I might actually have it this time since I’m getting the project bug again.

And this XKCD coming amply illustrates the point.

XKCD Resistor Codes

Comments»

1. christopher - January 16, 2008

My thinking is why waste brain space for something that has a chart?

LOL

–Truthspew’s Response–

Because sometimes you don’t have the chart with you. You remind me of a former boss. He had this thing about keeping no institutional knowledge in his head.

2. me - January 17, 2008

Here’s how I remember it: Black, Brown, then “ROY G, BIV” (just like the spectrum, but minus I/Indigo), then Grey and White.

Black, brown grey, white is easy to remember, being a natural progression from black to white.

3. Cooper - January 18, 2008

I didn’t understand a single word of this … truly adorkable.

–And Truthspew Says:

You understand words and emotion, I understand the technical and magical. The magical is nothing but the technical anyhow and sometimes the technical is very magical.

4. onanite - January 18, 2008

I am totally lost, sorry
Guess I am just stupid.

Onanite

–And Truthspew Says:

Don’t worry, it took a lot of years to become the geek that I am.

5. Fiber Optic Cable - January 19, 2008

Thats really cool .. I like thats . i wish i will see more from you like these.


Leave a Reply

