jump to navigation

Camping! February 6, 2008

Posted by truthspew in Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback

It’s funny, certain things jog the memory quite a bit. All in all I’ve had a very good life so far even if I do gripe about it sometimes.

For example take camping. I love to go camping.

This all started when I was a kid, I’d go with my parents up to Weirs Beach, places like that.

As a teen, I started going camping at local state places like Burlingame. And then at 17 I went on a camping trip to the White Mountains with some buddies. That was an ill-fated trip because it was 4 guys, 11 cases of beer, and a nice cold stream that ran behind the campsite. But I will tell you that the little pooling places in the rocks got to a nice warm temp at about noontime every day. It was so nice to take a dip in that.

Then there were the annual Fourth of July trips to Biddeford, ME. We stayed at a place called Bunganut Lake and would joke that Bunganut was Native American for Land of Many Rocks. We’d have six sites and all had the same tents. It was awesome. I remember one night we spun one tent around on a bud who took off for the day. That was too funny.

I lenjoy a good campfire and roasting marshmallows. I also enjoy having to string a huge tarp over the whole site so that you didn’t get completely drenched when it rained. To me it’s just so nice to unwind and enjoy nature. I get a laugh out of those who say that roughing it is a 5-star hotel. Ha!

Comments»

1. ryan - February 7, 2008

i totally love camping!

2. christopher - February 9, 2008

Camping is to delight in nature by joining nature, in my humble opinion.

I think anyone who has ever been camping in the back country of a park can sit reading your post and come up with dozens of tales from their glory days and dream of the next camp fire escape to bring them back to center with nature and life.

Thanks for reminding me of some simple pleasures this morning!


Leave a Reply

