jump to navigation

The Providence Obama Event March 1, 2008

Posted by truthspew in Uncategorized.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Well, today was what I’d term a classic cluster fuck. I took the RIPTA bus up to the Rhode Island College campus to see Barack Obama. Since it was raining I had my umbrella with me.

Got there around 9:45AM, there were about 100 people in line by then. About 10:45AM the Fire Marshall makes the announcement that no umbrellas will be allowed into the venue. He suggests we return them to cars and I asked him what does one without a vehicle do with theirs. He told me that entrance would be prohibited so I left.

I go back to the bus stop for the 11:05AM bus except it never comes. Wait for the 11:39AM bus, it never comes. By this time there are a dozen other people waiting for the bus.

I decide I’ll walk, it’s less than 5 miles and I can handle distances like that. As I get down the hill from the RIC campus I see two of Providence’s Finest directing traffic. I ask the one cop if he’s re-directed buses and of course he says yes he has. I yelled at him that maybe one of them should let the dozen people at the Roberts building know about that and trudged on.

Did I mention that we got another slushie? By the time I got home my shoes and socks were soaked. And I didn’t get to see Obama speak.

What irks me is the retarded nature of RI’s fire code. After the Station fire where 100 people died and 200+ were injured and disfigured our kneejerk legislature modified the fire code and made it more stringent. I’ve written about that before so I don’t need to go into it here. I will however state once again that the laws on the books at the time of the fire were adequate. If they had been enforced we may never have seen such a catastrophic event.

Comments»

1. onanite - March 2, 2008

To bad you missed Obama. He would have been interesting to see. What’s with the no umbrella thing, how is that a fire hazard?


Leave a Reply

