jump to navigation

Religious Bigotry Exposed March 6, 2008

Posted by truthspew in Focus on the Family, politics, religion.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Someone finally ripped and posted “For the Bible Tells Me So”

I like how they approached this. They took a holistic approach, in other words they brought the families of the gay people profiled into it. The key note among the families is the heavily religious background.

I see religion as the most corrupting and violent influence on society. This becomes more apparent when you are reminded that Dr. James Dobson of Focus on the Family isn’t a holy man, he’s a damned psychologist who should have his license yanked for the bullshit that he spews in the guise of religion.

All religion exists based on FUD which is Fear, Uncertainty and Doubt. The fear of the unknown, the uncertainty about the future, and the doubt about ones own life are exploited mercilessly by religions throughout the world. If you read the Bible, the whole bible and not just the parts that the clerics want you to read you’ll find out that Jesus Christ was truly a man, that his message wasn’t to use the book to promote your own agenda, but to love one another as you love yourself.

But that message doesn’t shine through. The Catholic Church has that Nazi Youth scumbag issuing pronouncement after pronouncement about the evils of the world. Sometimes Benny the Rat gets it right, but more often than not he gets it very wrong. The Reformation churches span the gamut with the mostly accepting Episcopalians, to the masters of FUD in the Baptist sects.

The other interesting thing that comes out of the movie is the fact that when most people, especially older people find out someone is gay the first image that pops into their head is the sexual. I remember Kevin who I’d met some time ago, he and I got into a conversation on this issue and he said that when people know they’re gay they picture you sucking dick. They even used that line in the movie Trick.

But it isn’t all about the sex. Oh the sex can be great fun, but we love, we hurt, we experience the full range of human emotion. It’s just that we are naturally attracted to the same sex.

In the case of my father, he’s fallen in with a white supremacist reformation sect. I know this because of conversations I’ve had with my father, and having read the entire Bible in the context of the time and culture it was written in, I know he’s being lead along by a pastor with an ulterior motive. That was confirmed to me when I googled something my father said to me and found it came from white supremacist tracts about religion.

My father knows I’m gay, knows that Keyron is black and I know that it bothers dear old dad. Too bad, it’s been 15 years, if he hasn’t gotten over it yet, he never will. But old dad knows that when the end comes, it’s his only son that will be there. So he’s started lightening up a bit over the past few years. Oh he’s still a bigoted asshole, but he tries to hold out the olive branch every now and then. I’m not so closed minded that I don’t see what’s going on.

It’s odd though, my father is the only one in the family that is that way. My aunts and cousins on both sides of the family are cool with my being gay. It’s just my dad.

It makes me wonder, whose child was I? I know I have elements of Dad’s personality, the stubbornness and somewhat thug mentality, that comes from him. But the gay, atheist civil rights defender, that’s from my mom. I often wonder, what would have happened had she lived and my father died. I’d probably still be gay, but I would have come out much sooner that’s for sure.

Comments»

1. onanite - March 7, 2008

Sorry to hear about your dad, I know it must be painful. Racism is rampant in our country, much to our shame. Maybe in one hundred year it will be wiped out, maybe.

Onanite

=-=-=-Truthspew Says=-=-=-

I wouldn’t call it painful per se. I’m more angry about it than in pain from it. I think it’s going to take more than a hundred years to wipe it out though. Because first we have to get rid of religiosity and move toward spirituality.


Leave a Reply

