jump to navigation

Troppe informazioni Martedì – giorni di scuola edizione (TMI #143) July 15, 2008

Posted by truthspew in TMI Tuesday.
Tags:
trackback

1. What were you known as in HS (Jock, Princess, Geek)

Definitely a geek.

2. What were you really?

See question 1.

I excelled in the sciences. Math wasn’t my thing if only because they never went deep enough. I could give a crap about the rules for math, I wanted to know why the rules existed. Essentially I wanted to see the proofs. Probably why I did well with geometry and trig.

And on the standardized personality and ability testing I always scored off the charts on abstract reasoning.

3. If you could go back and tell your 16 year old self one thing, what would it be?

It’s perfectly ok for you to be gay. The only one who would have been a small problem would be my father but even then, I think he’s less concerned about me being gay than about my choice in my life partner.

And I probably wouldn’t have lost one friend in particular. He was more hurt that I had felt I couldn’t trust him than because of the fact I was gay.

4. If you could erase one moment from your school days what would it be?

Maybe I’d erase the meatball we put into this guys shoe during gym. We were devious little bastards. Or maybe booby trapping our homeroom at the end of our freshmen year. That was bad.

5. Who did you not date (or more) that you wish you did?

As a youngster I dated a few girls, even married one but that was only because her grandmother was in poor health and wanted to see at least one of her granddaughters married. And back then I was a complete go with the flow guy.

There was a friend of my now ex-wife however that I would loved to have dated. He was a cutie and sparks definitely flew between us. Oh well.

Bonus (as in optional): If you went to prom, describe your outfit.

It was a tux, black with white accent. I also had a shaved spot right up the center of my forehead since I’d been in a car accident a couple weeks before.

I’d been trying to get out on Mineral Spring Ave. in North Providence, RI. Mineral Spring Ave through the town is a three lane road, with the middle lane reserved for turns. I checked the westward flow and was in the clear, checked the eastward and had an opening, checked the west again and proceeded to go.

Next thing you know I’m t-boned. What had happened was that a guy was speeding in the middle lane and he crested the hill as I was pulling out. Smashed right into my car. He was traveling the center lane which is a serious no-no.

My car was a 1976 Mercury Monarch and if you looked at it from the side it looked like the letter A with the horizontal bar missing.

But this is a really entertaining story. A made my way over to a local restaurant, bleeding everywhere since head wounds bleed like all hell. Called the police and asked for a rescue too. They took me to Fatima hospital. At the hospital they did x-rays, no fractures or anything. Not even a concussion. So they parked me in the hall for a bit until they could stitch up the wound.

The thing was it was a Saturday night and I was due to be on the air at midnight. I asked them to get me near a phone and called my on-air partner and told him he’d have to do the show himself or ask the guys on before us to sub in. When he’d heard what happened he came over to the hospital.

They stitched me up which was an adventure. I’d had stitches before so I wasn’t freaked in fact I was more curious than anything. The doc actually gave me a mirror so I could see him stitch the wound.

I also told the doctor I could remove my own stitches if he’d just give me the hooked scissors to take home with me. And he did. Since then I’ve always removed my own stitches. You can tell when they’re ready to come out since it gets VERY itchy.

I’ll tell you this, a head wound is impressive. When I went to fill out the police report later that evening the cops were all concerned about me, the whole bit. I guess I looked much worse than I felt.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

