jump to navigation

Choose your toxin wisely February 12, 2009

Posted by truthspew in Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback

Apparently Obama is thinking of appointing Seattle Police Chief Gil Kerlikowske as the nations new Drug Czar.

This is the same Chief that put law enforcement on public safety duty during the Hempfest in Seattle. I wonder how his attitude will translate into ONDCP policy.

The more research I do the more I say legalize Marijuana. I say this as someone whose toxin of choice is alcohol.

But here’s something to chew on. Take a look at this graph. It shows the fatal dose as a multiple of effective dose. Marijuana requires more than a thousand times the effective dose to be fatal. But it’s virtually impossible to do that via the normal method of intake for marijuana.

Fatal Dose vs. Effective Dose

Fatal Dose vs. Effective Dose

So lets take my poison of chose and figure things out.

I’m mainly a beer/wine guy with beer being more prevalent than wine. Most beer is in the 3% alcohol range and I note I start feeling the effects of alcohol at about 2.5 beers.

If each beer is 12 ounce, 2.5 times that gives me 30 ounces of beer. Of that 30 ounces, 3% is alcohol which gives us .9 ounces as the effective dose. So by definition of that graph, ten times the .9 ounces gives us 9 ounces as the fatal dose.

Now suppose I drank vodka. Vodka is 50% alcohol. Suppose I took in the same volume, 30 ounces. That would be a whopping 15 ounces of alcohol. I’d pretty much be severely alcohol poisoned or dead.

That’s the other thing, I’ve noticed that the FUD spread by ONDCP an their ilk says smoking pot affects memory, etc.

My own empirical observations tell me otherwise. I know plenty of sane, lucid people who smoke pot.

So legalize it already. As I’ve demonstrated here alcohol is far more dangerous than pot could ever be.

Yet alcohol is legal. Makes you wonder where the real opposition to marijuana is coming from. Could it be the legal alcohol industry?

Comments»

1. Mark in DE - February 12, 2009

Whereas I completely agree with you, I will briefly play Devil’s Advocate.

Pot opponants say that alcohol can be consumed in moderation (1 beer or 1 glass of wine) with no impairment of judgement and motor skills, while the same can not be said about pot. Some drink alcohol for flavor and do not get buzzed or drunk. Pot can not be consumed without having an affect on the mind/body.

But in reality, I agree with you because I feel that more people are intentionally ‘impairing’ themselves by over-drinking.

=-=-=-Truthspew Says=-=-=-

And I’ll rebut the Devil’s Advocate argument. I’ve seen people smoke one joint with no obvious impairment. I’ve seen them smoke two with no impairment.

Sure, after a bunch they’ll be a bit more impaired but alcohol does the same exact thing.

I recall a video in which one of the former police chiefs that is a member of LEAP asked his fellow chiefs if they’d every had someone under the influence of marijuana that was belligerent or violent. The answer was unanimously that they’d never seen a belligerent marijuana user.

Then they were asked about belligerent drunks. You can imagine the response he got.

2. Onanite - February 12, 2009

I agree. I think one of the reasons pot is illegal is that we could all grow it ourselves hence no taxation.

Onanite

=-=-=-Truthspew Says=-=-=-

Actually you can grow your own grapes too.

3. tornwordo - February 14, 2009

I think the booze lobby is to blame, oh and uptight old farts who have never tried the stuff.

=-=-=-=-=Truthspew Says=-=-=-=

Old farts, those 50 and up? I know one pot smoker who is 56 years old, that’s my aunt. Then there’s Keyron’s mom, she’s 67.

The generation that never smoked pot is either already gone or on their way out.

4. Wondermann - February 15, 2009

maybe they should legalize it

5. Todd Hellskitchen - February 15, 2009

I’m with you! Legalize it! And tax it… Put the criminals out of business and pay off some debt… Sounds perfect to me!


Leave a Reply

