jump to navigation

An exchange with Rev. John Codega, an opponent of marriage equality March 28, 2009

Posted by truthspew in Gay rights, marriage equality, religion.
Tags: , ,
trackback

The following is an exchange I had with Rev. John Codega of Christ the Redeemer church in West Warwick, RI.

There are points in this on which we both agree and points on which we don’t. In my studies of history I’ve seen the damage wrought by the Catholic church when they were left unchecked by civil authority.

I should mention, I fall into the category of non-believer. The only reason I’m aware of the doctrine and dogma is 12 years of Catholic schools in my past.

You should take note that either bill under consideration, S0136 or H5744 would prohibit the free exercise of religion. But when the exercise of religion takes away my rights I get very persnickety.

In essence, keep your religious views to yourself. What you and the others against marriage equality are attempting to do is to enforce your world view on the rest of us. I was most elated by that one young woman who identified as Catholic yet saw no problem with marriage equality.

You’re a smooth talker, no doubt about that. But your reference to the “In God We Trust” piqued my interest. I know that our money was imprinted with that starting at the mid-point of the 20th Century, it had not been present before them. I also know that the founding fathers were for the most part humanist. Certainly Benjamin Franklin had an interesting view of religion.

Tony

Rev. John Codega wrote:
> Tony
>
> Thanks for your input last night. This is an issue that certainly is not going away in the near future. As I said, the sharing of ideas is what we should be about.
>
> I am not sure to whom you were referring regarding quoting scripture out of context. I agree: we can read into scripture any message we wish by finding single passages to support almost any personal view. A great gift of the Catholic church is the magisterium and the tens of thousands of scripture scholars, much more educated than I, who have suggested meanings of His inspired word.
>
> A wall between church and state is exactly what I believe we don’t need – nor is it the foundation of this great nation. I have no desire to become like those nations, from the the Soviet Union, to the Netherlands to Spain, who have supported like views. As mentioned last night, no student of history could fairly argue that the founders wanted a bi-lateral wall between state and church nor does the Constitution support this.
>
> “Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, OR PROHIBITING THE FREE EXERCISE THEREOF” Could it be any more clear, Tony?
>
> Never was the intention to silence the voice of the people. From the Mayflower compact of 1620 to congress opens each session in prayer, to our latest presidents closing their public addresses invoking God’s blessings, as a nation we have invoked the protection and direction of our God. I recall so vividly Congress gathered on the capitol steps on September 12, 2001 singing God Bless America.
>
> As faithful people our mission is to encourage each other to speak from our hearts. If my heart is based in the Judea Christian values upon which this nation was founded than I have a right and an obligation to share my views in the democratic process. As a leader in the church, it is my duty to educate and encourage the faith in our common mission to be involved as faithful citizens. If what you propose was reality, than any person who was sincere in the faith would be silenced. Now, unlike the gay marriage debate, that would be a civil rights issue
>
> And, for whatever its worth, I have been a priest 9 years and have loved every day of it.
>
> peace to you
>
> Rev. John Codega
> Church of Christ the King
> 130 Legris Avenue
> Centreville, RI 02893
> 401.821.9228
> http://www.christthekingwwri.org
> http://www.rimosj.org
> http://www.catholicpriest.com
>
>
> ..
>
>
>
>
>
>
> —– Original Message —– From: “Tony Pelliccio”
> To:
> Sent: Saturday, March 28, 2009 12:38 AM
> Subject: Rainbow Alliance Forum
>
>
>> Hello
>>
>> I was the gentleman in the red striped shirt. I have to say, listening to the out of context quotations was quite interesting. As I mentioned, the interpretation of the Bible evolves too, for we no longer treat women as chattel, nor do we have slavery (At least in the U.S.), and we do eat pork.
>>
>> We need to build a solid wall between church and state. As I said this is primarily a conflict between the civil and religious sides. Marriage equality as it exists in RI protects churches from having to marry gay people. And to counter the slipper slope arguments about whats next, marrying your daughter, etc. there are fairly strict consanguinity provisions in the law with exceptions made for Judaism.
>>
>> I did find it interesting that you’ve only been in the priesthood for 16 years is it?
>>
>> Tony
>>
>>
>
>

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

