jump to navigation

The Coming Future of Energy June 15, 2009

Posted by truthspew in Uncategorized.
trackback

I’ve been noticing something recently. I know the city has moved to kiosks for parking fee collection and all the kiosks are solar powered.

Then the other day I noticed that all the lights in Lonigan Park in Providence are solar powered. The collector arrays face southwest during the daylight and charge a battery pack. The lights are bright enough and I’m very impressed. I can see this technology rolling out for street lights too. I was looking up the specifications and most have reserves of 5 days or more without sunlight. That’s pretty good.

Then today I read that the northeast U.S. is prime country for kites up around 20,000 to 50,000 feet that will generate up to 10kW per square meter. I did some calculations for my city. Lets start by estimating we’d only be able to use about 15% of the total land space. Total area is 20.5 square miles, or 53,094,756.3 square meters or 7,964,213.44 square meters. At 10kW per square meter it would mean 79,642,134.4 kilowatts of power.

I was also reading that a Sainsbury store in UK uses a kinetic energy capture device in it’s car park that powers the stores entire point of sale system.

Utilities like National Grid should be very afraid.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

