jump to navigation

My favorite Art September 5, 2009

Posted by truthspew in Uncategorized.
trackback

I’ve realized something. I really dig 19th century art. My two favorite artists from that period are Henri Regnault, and John Singer Sargent.

I’ll start with the latter:

Hercules by John Singer Sargent

Hercules by John Singer Sargent

Atlas and the Hesperides

Atlas and the Hesperides

Disegno 9

Disegno 9

Recumbent draped figure

Recumbent draped figure

Chiron and Achilles

Chiron and Achilles

I get the distinct impression that Sargent was gay. Lifelong bachelor, a slightly younger protege. You get the idea here. Probably why I’m drawn to his work. He understood the male body.

Now onto Henri Regnault, not as many from him but still some good ones.

Automedon with the horses of Achilles

Automedon with the horses of Achilles

The above painting is phenomenal. It’s just breathtaking in its detail and composition. And of course it makes you just wish the cape would shift just a little bit more but alas, it won’t happen.

Head of a Moor

Head of a Moor

I get the feeling that Regnault might have been a friend of Dorothy too. He was young when he died, only 28. But he produced some very good art.

So there you have it. Now you know what to get me for my birthday or for a holiday gift.

Comments»

1. Stephen - September 6, 2009

I love John Singer Sargent. I once happily owned a samll pencil sketch of Ethel Barrymore by Sargent. I gave it as a gift to a man I was in love with & now no longer speak to (this was decades ago). A life lesson for sure.
Love your blog!

2. wondermann - September 8, 2009

love the Automedon with the horses of Achilles piece

=-=-=-=Truthspew Says=-=-=-

Yes, it’s my favorite too. The detail and color are astounding in the real piece that’s hanging at the Boston MFA. If I could get a quality giclee print of this I’d love it.


Leave a Reply

