jump to navigation

Goodbye to a friend October 2, 2009

Posted by truthspew in Uncategorized.
trackback

I’m shocked. I met a guy through video blogging site three years ago. His name was Doug Blanchard. Nice guy, older than me but he gave me my first camera and it’s taken off from there.

About a year ago he was diagnosed with cancer in the lymph nodes of the jaw. I’d kept in touch but I guess he didn’t want people seeing the result of the surgeries, etc. The diagnostician in me knew that if there was lymph involvement then it was highly likely there would be metastatic cancers and sure enough, about a month and a half later he told me about lung involvement.

It sucks knowing when people are going to die. Friend of ours grandmother has been diagnosed with stage 4 pancreatic cancer. I won’t tell our friend but her grandmother will be dead within 2 or 3 months.

I found out Doug died this past April. The sad part is that I’d been trying to contact him via email and even on IM but was getting no response. Now I know why. Something told me to search the Social Security Death Index and sure enough he died on April 8, 2009. He was 59 years old.

Curiously his email account is still active. Someone is paying the bill.

I’ll miss you Doug.

Comments»

1. Rev Barky - October 8, 2009

I read something in Harpers or New Yorker about this phenomenon of how e-mail accounts and web content endure long after a person dies. Kinda creepy.

So sorry.


Leave a Reply

