jump to navigation

Politics: The New Republican Platform (And my response!) November 23, 2009

Posted by truthspew in politics.
Tags: ,
trackback

Found this over on Joe.My.God.

(1) We support smaller government, smaller national debt, lower deficits and lower taxes by opposing bills like Obama’s “stimulus” bill;

I suppose government adequate to meet the needs of the people and perhaps a lower national debt. But that’s where my similarities with the Republicans end. I want to see taxes back at the levels they were at in the 1950’s. You know, when people making more than $300K a year paid a fairly high bracket, and corporations paid quite a lot more in taxes than the roughly 9% to 15% they pay now.

I’d also like to mention that if we ended the debacle in Iraq and Afghanistan we’d save a fucking bundle. Especially with the latter. If you understand anything about the Pashtun tribes, you understand that Afghanistan is essentially undergoing a civil war that has been going on for the better part of the last few centuries.

And Iraq, we need another bully puppet there. Saddam Hussein knew how to keep his party in check. That’s what we need so Shi’a, Sunni and even Kurd can learn how to live with one another again.

Once that’s accomplished lets pay off the national debt, and then with the surpluses available let us re-invest in infrastructure (Rebuilding highways perhaps, with lanes set out for rapid transit systems?) or maybe rebuilding all the schools in the nation, or providing health care to every U.S. citizen, from cradle to grave.

(2) We support market-based health care reform and oppose Obama-style government run health care;

See the last part of my above answer. I support not just a single payer system, but a nationalized system like they have in the UK. Anything left to a ‘market-based’ approach simply means that the market will charge all that can be borne by the customer and provide as cheap a service as they can in order to maximize profit. Profit in health care should be anathema, particularly the extreme cases of profit over care.

(3) We support market-based energy reforms by opposing cap and trade legislation;

Here is what I’d support. I’d support dumping huge sums of money into wind, solar, tidal and whatever alternative energy systems we can come up with. I’d also support the R&D into electric vehicles that have ranges in the 300 mile, with < 15 minute recharge times. It's happening already, but would happen a lot faster if we put a little money into it.

I guess you could almost say I agree with this particular point. Cap and trade is bullshit. Lets move ourselves toward a Type 1 Kardashev society.

(4) We support workers’ right to secret ballot by opposing card check;

This one confuses me a bit because I’m not well versed in labor issues. In essence though the Republican party is pretty much anti-union so I guess I’d have to support card check.

(5) We support legal immigration and assimilation into American society by opposing amnesty for illegal immigrants;

This point is purely bovine effluvia. I say if they’re here, working and paying taxes they stay here.

(6) We support victory in Iraq and Afghanistan by supporting military-recommended troop surges;

I oppose this on so many levels. See the last part of my answer to their first platform plank.

(7) We support containment of Iran and North Korea, particularly effective action to eliminate their nuclear weapons threat;

I support diplomacy with Iran, and as far as North Korea, we need to put the pressure on China, Japan and South Korea to settle that little cluster fuck.

(8) We support retention of the Defense of Marriage Act;

And I support abolishing said act. It is unconstitutional on the very face of it and violates my rights to equal protection under the law.

(9) We support protecting the lives of vulnerable persons by opposing health care rationing and denial of health care and government funding of abortion; and

Yes, the lives of the vulnerable. Who are they anyway? The way I see it, the very young, the very old and the disabled. I’d extend it to those between very young and very old too.

But do they not realize that health care is already rationed? It’s a default state of the system as it exists even now. As for denial of health care, they really should talk to their buddies in the insurance industry because by far they’ve been the grinchiest of all.

Now the fun part, abortion. I say this, until we get a reasonable sex education program into schools (One that starts around 5th grade, and repeats again in 8th and 10th) we keep access to abortion free, open and legal for all. Otherwise I neither care, nor do I think it is my right to tell a woman if she can or cannot get an abortion. It’s her choice, not mine.

(10) We support the right to keep and bear arms by opposing government restrictions on gun ownership.

And I support the right the arm bears. But seriously, yeah I’m kind of gun nut when it comes to this.

So I do find a small amount of agreement with their 10 planks. But I don’t think I’d ever call myself a Republican.

Comments»

1. wondermann - November 25, 2009

great responses


Leave a Reply

