jump to navigation

Public Transit Maturing in Rhode Island December 11, 2009

Posted by truthspew in Uncategorized.
trackback

Very interesting. I got this off the Greater City: Providence blog. The title is perhaps a misnomer but transit throughout the state is being re-thought. This mostly focuses on the improvements in the City of Providence.

GC:Providence has a better writeup so check the link I put at the top of the post.

However I did a financial breakdown on the system and thought I should put this out there.

View this document on Scribd
Comments»

1. Corey - December 14, 2009

I couldn’t help noticing that those numbers are based on a fare of $2.00 per ride. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m all about the streetcars, but who’s going to pay that just to ride the thing from the hospital to thayer street? Not me, and probably not many other people either. If I could get across town on those 2 bucks, I might consider it, but as it is that’s way too much money.

-=-=-=Truthspew Says-=-=-=

I based it on numbers for MBTA’s Green Line service. If you don’t buy a pass the cash price is $2 per ride. If you buy a pass it work out to $1.70 per ride, or a 15% discount. And if you look at MTA in NY, subways (Closest thing to streetcars) are $2.25 per ride.

If RIPTA just wanted to break even they’d have to charge $1.80 per ride but leaves no margin for upgrades and maintenance.

Corey - December 15, 2009

Right, but I still can’t see people paying 2 bucks a pop for the thing when it doesn’t go very far.


Leave a Reply

