jump to navigation

TED Blog: How to live to be 100+: Dan Buettner on TED.com January 9, 2010

Posted by truthspew in Uncategorized.
trackback

{{desc}}

via TED Blog: How to live to be 100+: Dan Buettner on TED.com.

Very interesting stuff. I incorporate much of the suggested things into my life. I suppose I could move toward a more plant based diet but I’m a meat eater and it would be tough.

If you look at my family, median falls around 85 to 86 barring disease. So there is a genetic predisposition. But it’s more than that.

What do Italian-Americans eat more of than anyone else? Pasta with a tomato based sauce. And we tend to drink a bit more wine too, not enough to get drunk, but with a meal the right wine rocks.

Cooking – I do not own a food processor. Everything is chopped manually. Of course laundry, that’s a machine but it is a trek up and down the stairs to the basement.

I don’t own a car. Everything I need is within walking distance. It is why I chose to live where I do.

Technology is also going to step in to help too. He talks about Omega 3 vs. Omega 6 fatty acids. They’re bioengineering lots of things to make Omega 3 vs. the other variety. But I do like certain fish, like salmon, trout, tuna, swordfish. It’s just so damned expensive and a very limited resource.

Do what you can. Even if it adds a couple of years of life you’re ahead of the game.

Comments»

1. wondermann - January 10, 2010

good stuff, I’ve heard about this before. Very interesting


Leave a Reply

