jump to navigation

Tea Party last stand on Health Care March 19, 2010

Posted by truthspew in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Let me state unequivocally that I oppose the health care bill as currently written. The reason I oppose it is because without a public option there is nothing in the bill that will keep the insurance industry honest.

And to say that everybody is mandated to buy insurance? Are you kidding me? Like we’re not taxed out the ying yang already. There are already federal and state income, sales, excise, use, service taxes. (Have you looked at your cell or regular phone bill lately, or your utility bill?) So what is the penalty if you don’t buy? If it’s a fine I will find the money to hire an attorney and file suit against the U.S. Government because that is seriously unconstitutional.

Here is my proposal and it’s going to not only hurt the insurance industry but that other sycophant the billing industry.

Single payer. In other words just extend Medicare to EVERYONE. There you go, all set, and in case you were curious do you know what Medicare’s overhead is? It is 3.5%. Now I’m hearing the likes of Beck & Co. saying the regular insurers only get 3.5% when the reality is at least 20% or 1/5th of all income is consumed on overhead. So where does the other 16.5% go? To shareholders.

Tell the insurance companies and billing companies that the ride is over. That they have to adapt to new realities.

Of course on my part this is all a pipe dream because my voice doesn’t matter. I don’t have a million bucks laying around to lobby my congressmen.

So lets just focus on one little thing. Modify the 14th Amendment to include the disclaimer that “The rights enumerated and referred to in this amendment do not apply and shall not apply to inanimate entities such as corporations, partnerships, or limited liability companies.”

Baby steps. Once we strip corporations of the notion and power to lobby we gain an equal footing again. Even Michael Moore understands that.

But this made me laugh. This guy goes and interviews Tea Party and 9/12 ignoramuses.

I find it interesting that the TP/9-12 folks can parrot the talking points like pros. But question them further and they don’t know anything. The same thing applies to the anti-abortion crowd too and they are a big component of the anti health care reform crowd.

The interviewer in the video starts asking people to identify the part(s) of the bill that they disagree with. Many will make the disclaimer that they haven’t read the bill. I’ve skimmed it and you see my opposition above. But these people never even looked at it.

Then the interviewer asks the clutch question. Where do they get their information? And every one of them says it’s Fox News. If Fox News is fair and balanced, I’m the damned Easter Bunny.

But it brings up memories of my studies. Remember the architect of the Nazi message? Joseph Goebbels. When it comes to propaganda Goebbels is the one who originated the phrase repeat a lie often enough and it becomes the truth.

That is how Fox News operates. Control the message, control the people. It’s their modus operandi. And as a propaganda organ for the Republican party Fox News does and excellent job.

The question is, how do we take Fox News off the air? I think my suggestion of amendment modification might do the trick. How long could Fox News hide behind first amendment rights if you did that?

Comments»

1. Cubby - March 20, 2010

The parallels between the rise of German fascism in the 1930s and the rise of American theodemocracy today is staggering. Both attract members by using terror tactics such as bullying people, shouting opposing opinions down, threatening those who express differing views, singling out groups or classes of people for villianization, and passing laws targeting those specific groups or classes for discrimination. Both gained substantial political power in a relatively short period of time. And both came/are coming to power with little resistance.

America is in danger. Great danger. The TeaPartiers represent a grave threat to this nation and to the constitution. Something needs to be done to stop them, but what?

2. Kyle - March 22, 2010

They are good at parroting talking points, but the propaganda they listen to doesn’t give them anything else to say.

I’m sure you know I wanted something much greater than what is going to the president’s desk and I agree with you completely on the buy mandate, billing, and keeping the insurers honest. I said the same things in my healthcare fairytale series.

I am glad more people will have access to care and I can’t say that I’m upset that conservatives are fuming. Unfortunately, the problems this legislation brings overshadows the gains tremendously.

No one is going to listen to us, but we still have to keep saying what we need to say. Most of the time I feel like I am on the Titanic as she sinks, but I still have to try to help people even though I know the end result may make all the work fruitless.

3. wondermann - March 29, 2010

mess


Leave a Reply

