jump to navigation

Tech: So now I know what bricked my Netgear FVS318 March 19, 2010

Posted by truthspew in Uncategorized.
trackback

About two years ago I upgraded the firmware on my Netgear FVS318 firewall. About a month later it started dropping every fourth packet. So I swapped it out for another firewall product.

I recently built a stereo amplifier based on the STA540 amplifier chip. It can be powered up to over a wide range of DC voltages but if it detects something screwball with the power it goes into an alarm mode.

Since I wasn’t using the FVS318 and its power supply shows it to be 12VDC at 1.2A I stripped the connector off and hooked it up to my STA540 amp. I had been running the STA540 on my bench power supply no problems. But when I hooked up the power supply from the FVS318 I got the alarm sound from the STA540.

I got out the meter, the power supply is shooting 17.5VDC or 5.5V above the listed value. So tomorrow I’ll hookup the FVS318 to my bench top power supply and see if it works. If it does I’ll find another 12VDC power supply and run it on that.

I liked the FVS318, it would email weekly logs, and had a whole bunch of very nice features. It would be very good to get that back in action.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

